Life Update

Posted on 2023/10/05

Unfortunately, I missed being able to write something for September. I've been meaning to, but on September 21st, my cat Trixie had surgery to remove a lump on the back of her neck. I don't know if it's cancerous or just a cyst at the moment, as the vet is still testing for it. However, my guess is that it's either a benine tumor or a fatty cyst. It's been on her neck for a few years now, but only in the past two years has it grown a bit and started to bother her. I had to keep an eye on her post-surgery so she wouldn't mess with her stitches. Thankfully, they're off of her now! Unthankfully, she's having issues with her kidney and a few crystals were spotted. She is 9 years old, so it's to be expected since with age, cats often develop kidney issues. Apparently we caught it while things were developing, so we have a chance to prevent it. We were prescribed some special wet food for her in the meantime with medicine inside. She loves it a lot.

With Trixie taking up a lot of my time, I wasn't really able to sit down and focus on commission work this time. During that time, I had to find something to do that I didn't need to sit down and focus very heavily on. That's when I decided to start contributing to the Pizza Tower Wiki, now that it moved from Fandom hosting. Anyone who's remotely familiar with Fandom's practices knows that it's not a good place right now for any wiki. It's bloated with ads, comment sections and discussions that aren't related to the articles on the wiki. For those who manage Fandom wikis, it's even harder to prevent vandalism as you have to ask Fandom staff themselves to protect a page, and it's always temporary. Sysops, also known as wiki admins to anyone outside of wikis, cannot protect pages on their own. Now that it's gone indie, it can protect pages from vandalism if a specific page ends up being a common target. It also can ban specific users from creating accounts in order to bypass a ban on an account. Since the move, I've been slowly contributing small stuff, like corrections and sources for trivia. Eventually, I started helping out a little with CSS, various minor suggestions and touching up / cleaning existing pages, and I got promoted to sysop on the Pizza Tower Wiki!! Now I can edit everything on the wiki! Mostly for stylization purposes. Recently, I've been playing older builds of Pizza Tower to rewrite some of the pages for them on the wiki since a few of them are kind of subpar from the port from Fandom. Things are going well!

As I write this, Trixie is sitting in my lap with her head in the crook of my elbow. Things are nice. Could be better, but things are nice.

Comment Box is loading comments...